Warning: Junos Considered Harmful

Posted on February 6, 2007. Filed under: Personal Blog |

The image
Warning: Junos Considered Harmful

She was utterly beyond redemption.  Try as I might, Canadian music would forever be synonymous – in her mind – with Nickelback, Celine Dion, & Sum 41.  Let me back up.  I was sitting beside a German girl on the bus this past summer, going from Roger’s Pass (BC) over to Calgary.  She was new to Canada.  I was telling her what she just had to experience during her stay.  And one of the things I got to was the Canadian music scene.   “One of the most vibrant in the world,” I gushed. She retorted, “what – Nickelback is? – that’s about all I hear on the radio!”  I hung my head in shame and meekly gave her the CBCRadio3 web site.  I realized then that she would never be won over, no matter how much I could bluster about the indie scene.  And now I see that bastion of quality, Nickelback, up for another award.  Exalted as the best Canada has to offer the world.  sigh

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

